Image
Image

February 21, 2019

MESSAGE FROM PRINCIPAL DIANNE CARTER

 

Happy Thursday, Wildcat Families!  


It has definitely been another great week to be a Wildcat! Between kids competing in Robotics and also the Future Cities Competition, our school was well represented in some unique settings. I love it when our kids are excited about competing in non-traditional ways. Our LLS campaign has also blasted past the goal of $25,000 - amazing! While all of this has been rocking along for our kids, some of our community have endured some hard moments with friends or family in the last few weeks. I mention this because it is comforting to watch people take care of each other. It is by going through rough times together and also celebrating together that we become tighter as a family. I know that as we become more and more cohesive as a community, we become a better place for our kids. It is humbling to watch that happen. I really am lucky to get to work with incredible people.

 

Now for a few information items:

 

  • Author visit! - Tuesday March 5th author James Riley visits WRMS Library. James is the New York Times bestselling author of the Story Thieves series and will be introducing our sixth graders to his brand new series...The Revenge Of Magic: When long-dead magical creatures are discovered all around the world, each buried with a book of magic, only children can unlock the dangerous power of the books in this start to a thrilling new series..."Fans of Harry Potter and Rick Riodan's books will enjoy the crafted mixture of magic and military life." (School Library Connection)

 

  • EoLA Textbook Adoption! The English Language Arts Department is in the prcess of vetting new instructional materials and resources to adopt next school year. As members of the West Ridge Community, you are invited to come preview resources on campus and provide your valuable feedback to the adoption committee. If you are interested in viewing some of the options being considered, you will have the opportunity next week! From Monday, February 25th - Friday, March 1st, the materials will be on display for parents and community members during the hours of 10 am to 2 pm. Upon arriving at West Ridge, please sign in through the front office and visit room 217 where the materials are on display. To leave feedback after browsing the resources, please use the QR code below or follow this link.

 

I believe that is about all for this week. I hope you are all able to get some rest and have some quality family time this weekend.

 

Enjoy!


Dianne Carter

Image

WRMS CHEER

Image

There will be a mandatory informational Cheer Parent meeting for all new or returning cheerleaders for next school year on February 28th at 6 PM in the WRMS Library. This meeting is for PARENTS ONLY.  Please contact Gina Morreale (Gmorreale@eanesisd.net) if you have any questions!

LIBRARY NEWS

Tuesday, March 5th author James Riley visits WRMS Library. James is the New York Times bestselling author of the Story Thieves series and will be introducing our sixth graders to his brand new series...
The Revenge Of Magic: When long-dead magical creatures are discovered all around the world, each buried with a book of magic, only children can unlock the dangerous power of the books in this start to a thrilling new series...
"Fans of Harry Potter and Rick Riodan's books will enjoy the crafted mixture of magic and military life." (School Library Connection)

 

Please click this link to download the order form if you would like to purchase any of the books!

Image
Image
Image
Image

WILDCAT CLUB NEWS

6TH GRADE MEDIEVAL FEST - FRIDAY 2/22/19

 

Here Ye, Here Ye. Medieval Fest is tomorrow. This event is part of the Medieval History study unit and participation is mandatory. Students and volunteers are HIGHLY ENCOURAGED to dress up in period costumes Click THIS LINK to visit the Wildcat Club's Medieval Fest Event Page to get some costume ideas. 

 

 

Login at the WCC site to pay your $10 fee if you have not already done so. You can check under the PREVIOUS ORDERS tab in the upper right corner.

 

https://wildcatboosters.membershiptoolkit.com/home

 

Image

This event is possible only with the help of our amazing volunteers! Come be a part of the fun!!  We have a few more spaces to help with games. Please click THIS LINK to sign up. It's a super fun day – you'll be glad you did! Any questions about volunteering? Contact MF Volunteer Chair Julie Goel.

 

TEACHER APPRECIATION LUNCHEON

 

Our next staff luncheon is Wednesday, February 27th. Help us treat our fabulous staff to a Mardi Gras inspired feast! Click THIS LINK to volunteer.

Image

Celebration West Ridge 2.0 is coming up on March 8th, 2019. Look for an email on Monday with all the details!!!

 

 Don't want to miss a thing this year at WRMS? Join the Wildcat Club on Facebook!

https://www.facebook.com/groups/wildcatclub

 

 

It's a GREAT Day to Be a Wildcat!

Karen Martin and Terri Ganem-Budiselich

WRMS Wildcat Club Co-Presidents

COUNSELOR'S CORNER

Image
 
Image
 
 
Yearbook photo of the week
 

COMMUNITY FLYERS

Image

Click here to sign up: http://signup.com/go/urtEjeB

 

EARN SERVICE HOURS!!!

 

Tickets and wristbands for sale at Ticket Table.

Image
Image

NEWS

All schools release exactly 3 hours early. Bus routes run exactly 3 hours early. Elementary Parent Reminders: Lunch will not be served. Remember to make necessary changes in Campus Dismissal Manager


Learn about the proposed $80 million bond election to be held on May 4, 2019.  The proposed bond requires no tax rate increase and includes projects under safety & security, student programs & support, energy efficiency & conservation, facilities as well as co-curricular and extra-curricular spaces.


Eanes ISD is proud to announce that we are offering the opportunity for all secondary students to participate in Google’s global science fair during the 2019-2020 school year (next school year). We are offering short information nights to learn more about this amazing opportunity. Click title to learn more.

  • Hill Country MS, February 21, 2019, 7:00 PM

  • West Ridge MS, February 28, 2019, 7:00 PM


Join us for a screening of Intelligent Lives, February 25, 6:00 PM. Intelligent Lives stars three pioneering young American adults with intellectual disabilities who challenge perceptions of intelligence as they navigate high school, college, and the workforce. Click title to learn more.


SCHOOL CALENDAR

WEST RIDGE MIDDLE SCHOOL
9201 Scenic Bluff Drive, Austin, Texas 78733

http://wrms.eanesisd.net

 

 

View in browserUnsubscribeForward to a Friend Link